Sunday, January 14, 2018

Mason County football Recruit Night is Feb. 9

The Mason County football program's Recruit Night for current eighth graders is Friday, February 9 at 5:30 p.m. at the Mason County football complex.

A light meal will be served. Up to three tickets to the Mason County vs. Harrison County boys basketball game that night will be given to future players and their parents.

Topics to be covered on Recruit Night include:

  • Equipment
  • Safety
  • Schedules
  • Staff
  • Philosophy- R.O.Y.A.L.S.
  • School
  • Weightlifting and conditioning
  • Winter workouts for middle school players
Future players need to RSVP with Coach Jonathan Thomas at 606-375-5741 or by January 31. Include the number of people planning to attend including the recruit. 

Friday, January 12, 2018

Mason Co. track and field coach Mark Kachler on SportsTalk

Mason County track and field coach Mark Kachler was my guest on SportsTalk this morning.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Lady Royals winning streak snapped by lost to Highlands

The Mason County Lady Royals' four-game winning streak was snapped by a 46-37 loss to the Highlands Lady Bluebirds tonight at The Fieldhouse.

Mason County rallied from an 11-point halftime deficit to take its only lead at 33-32 with just over six and half minutes left in the game, but the Lady Royals only made one more field goal as Highlands closed the game with a 14-4 run.

The Lady Bluebirds scored 15 points off the Lady Royals' 20 turnovers.

Highlands made 15 of 18 free throws. Both teams had 14 field goals.

Emma Taylor led Mason County in scoring with 12 points. 

Kara Moran had a double-double with 10 points and 10 rebounds.

The Lady Royals' game against Henry Clay in the Central Bank Martin Luther King Jr. Classic at Clark County is cancelled.

Mason County's next game is Tuesday night at Russell.

H (12-6) Hayes 2, Nehus 5, Dill 5, Barth 17, Gessner 1, Riccobene 2, Jansen 5, O'Hara 9

MC (10-6) Brooks 5, Taylor 12, Moran 10, May 3, Payne 6

H    12 16 04 14- 46
MC 09 08 12 08- 37

Lady Royals to play in MLK Jr. Classic

The Mason County Lady Royals are scheduled to play the Henry Clay Lady Blue Devils in the opening game of Central Bank Martin Luther King Jr. Classic Saturday at Clark County. Here is the schedule:

1:00 (Girls) Mason County vs. Henry Clay

3:00 (Boys) Collins vs. Grayson County

5:00 (Girls) Clark County vs. Conner

7:00 (Boys) Clark County vs. Muhlenberg County

Tuesday, January 09, 2018

Mason County sweeps Fleming County in DH at The Fieldhouse

Mason County swept a girls and boys doubleheader against Fleming County tonight at The Fieldhouse.

The Lady Royals ran their winning streak to a season-high four games with a 68-33 victory over the Lady Panthers.

The Royals used an 18-3 run in the second half to earn their 19th straight win over the Panthers with a 70-58 victory.

Kara Moran and Haley May led the Lady Royals in scoring with 10 points apiece.

Jayden Steward had a double-double for the Royals with 22 points and 13 rebounds.

Leevi Dunaway scored 17 points and Caleb Boyd hit three three-pointers and added 15 points.

The Lady Royals host Highlands Thursday night.

The Royals' next game is Friday night at home against Ashland


MC (10-5) Brooks 9, Henry 9, Reed 9, Taylor 6, Moran 10, Thompson 2, May 10, Payne 4, Schumacher 5, Poe 4

FC (0-12) Fern 4, Argo 11, Jackson 10, Shield 3, Price 5

MC 24 26 12 06- 68
FC  06 12 06 09- 33


MC (10-6) Dunaway 17, Lofton 8, Perkins 6, Boyd 15, Steward 22, Devine 2

FC (2-13) Flannery 15, Campbell 11, Crump 13, Saunders 12, Taylor 5, Hughes 2

MC 11 18 21 20- 70
FC  12 18 15 13- 58

Saints derail Trains in girls and boys doubleheader

Justina Klee scored 15 points and Libby Gallenstein tossed in 10 points to lead the St. Patrick Lady Saints to 41-21 victory over the Silver Grove Lady Trains, and the St. Patrick Saints hit 15 three-pointers in a 76-34 win over the Silver Grove Big Trains 76-34 tonight at The Shamrock.

Patrick McKay made seven three-pointers for a game-high 21 points, Baylen Bauer hit six three-pointers and followed with 20 points and Chandler Black added 19 points including a trey.

The Saints outscored the Big Trains 28-2 in the second quarter.

St. Patrick will host Berea for a girls and boys doubleheader Saturday.


SP (5-10) Klee 15, Gallenstein 10, C. McKay 8, Hughes 6, L. McKay 2

SG (1-10) Rittenhouse 8, Rurpert 8, Acree 3, Stull 2


SP (6-10) Bauer 20, Mastin 2, Black 19, Swolsky 9, Williams 5, McKay 21

SG (0-11) Turcios 20, Weber 3, Rittenhouse 2, Gray 3, R. Noble 4, E. Noble 3

Sites announced for postseason basketball tournaments

The sites for the postseason high school basketball tournaments in the 10th Region have been announced.

The girls and boys 39th District and 10th Region tournaments will be played at the Mason County Fieldhouse.

Here are the sites for the other district tournaments:

37th District at Campbell County
38th District at Pendleton County
40th District at Montgomery County

The draws for the 10th Region tournaments will be held at Harrison County at February 24. The girls draw is scheduled at 9:30 a.m. followed by the boys at 10 a.m.